Why Luxembourg?

The furthering of research, development and innovation (RDI) activities and the implementation of an efficient RDI policy are key priorities for Luxembourg's Government. The Government's objectives include promoting economic diversification, enhancing the competitiveness of the country's businesses and building a knowledge-based society.

The public budgets dedicated to research in Luxembourg have increased from €28 million to €326 million between 2000 and 2014. The Government has established a level of national R&D intensity in the interval of 2.3% to 2.6% of GDP as an objective for the year 2020.

In 2014, the Innovation Union Scoreboard, which is used to evaluate and classify the innovation performance of EU Member States, categorises Luxembourg as an "innovation follower", ahead of other European countries such as France, Italy or Spain and above the European average in terms of innovation performance.

The Panorama of research and innovation in Luxembourg section of the Luxembourg Portal for Innovation and Research provides an overview of the relevant activities and outlines the main developments as well as the current context. It also offers an insight into the political efforts made by the government to strengthen RDI and lists milestones and statistical data associated with RDI in Luxembourg.

Luxembourg – business card

  • Surface: 2.586km2 in the heart of Europe
  • Population: over 560,000 inhabitants
  • Multicultural environment and highly skilled workforce
  • Strong potential for GDP growth
  • A strategic business hub with high potential for economic development
  • Diversified industry, cutting-edge technologies, innovative products and services
  • International financial centre
  • Intensive R&D and innovation activities
  • Attractive economic and fiscal policies
  • An economy with modern infrastructures
  • High quality of life

Pourquoi le Luxembourg ?

Le développement des activités liées à la recherche, au développement et à l’innovation (RDI) et la mise en œuvre d’une politique de RDI efficace est une priorité du gouvernement luxembourgeois qui vise, entre autres objectifs, à permettre une diversification économique, une augmentation de la compétitivité des entreprises ainsi que l’édification d’une société de la connaissance.

Les crédits budgétaires publics dédiés à la recherche au Luxembourg sont passés de 28 millions d’euros à 326 millions d’euro entre 2000 et 2014. Le gouvernement a fixé un interval de 2,3% à 2,6% du PIB comme objectif national de l'intensité R&D pour l'année 2020.

En 2014, l’ Innovation Union Scoreboard, utilisé pour évaluer et classer les performances en innovation des pays de l’UE, place le Luxembourg en tant "qu’innovation follower", devant d’autre pays européens tels que la France, l’Italie ou l’Espagne et au dessus de la moyenne européenne en matière de performance en innovation.

La section  Panorama de l'innovation et de la recherche au Luxembourg du Portail luxembourgeois de l'innovation et de la recherche, dresse le portrait global de ces activités en présentant ses principales évolutions et son contexte actuel. Il donne également un aperçu des efforts politiques mis en place par le gouvernement pour les renforcer, des dates clés et des données statistiques.

Le Luxembourg - sa carte de visite

  • Superficie : 2.586 km2 au cœur de l’Europe
  • Population : plus de 560.000 habitants
  • Environnement multiculturel et qualité de la main d’œuvre
  • Fort potentiel de croissance du PIB
  • Carrefour stratégique des affaires et potentiel élevé de développement économique
  • Industrie diversifiée, technologies de pointe, produits et services innovants
  • Centre financier international
  • Activités intenses de R&D et innovation
  • Politique économique et fiscale attrayante
  • Economie aux infrastructures modernes
  • Qualité de vie élevée