During their heyday, the Luxembourg fortifications included three fortified rings with 24 forts, 16 other strong defensive works and a unique network of underground galleries extending over 23 kilometres. These casemates could house thousands of soldiers and their horses. They also hosted workshops, kitchens, bakeries and slaughterhouses.
After Luxembourg’s declaration of neutrality in 1867 most of the defence structures were demolished, but 17 kilometres of tunnels still remain. Today, the casemates and the ruins of the original fortress are listed on the UNESCO World Heritage list. Tens of thousands of visitors come every year to enjoy these unique galleries and the beautiful view of the picturesque Grund and Clausen districts in the valley below.
Photos: © SIP, all rights reserved; © Luxembourg City Tourist Office